New Day Rising cover




The follow-up to ‘Nine Lives’ (2013), ‘New Day Rising’ is the sixth studio album from Von Hertzen Brothers, Finland’s Number One rock act…

This time, the brothers – Mikko, KieJonne Von Hertzen – entered the studio, The Farm in Vancouver, with Grammy-nominated Canadian producer Garth ‘GGGarth’ Richardson (Biffy Clyro, Rage Against The Machine, etc.), plus regular drummer Mikko Kaakkuriniemi & keyboard player Juha Kuoppala, and the result is their most ambitious release to date.

Says Mikko Von Hertzen, VHB frontman: “Working with GGGarth and Randy felt like we finally got to operate with true maestros – the crème de la crème of Canadian know-how. All bullshit aside, the end result is all that matters, and quite frankly, I’ve never been prouder of anything we’ve done. Together we raised the bar to a whole new level, and only time will tell if we’ll ever be able to beat that or raise the bar even more. I mean, we are talking some serious Sergey Bubka heights here!”

 GGGarth himself concurs: “It’s been a while since I’ve been so taken aback by a band. VHB did this to me. The brothers’ drive, passion and musicality are like no other. The bar has been raised.”

Mixed by Juno Awards winner Randy Staub (Metallica, Alice In Chains, etc.), ‘New Day Rising’ blends the key elements of VHB’s music – atmosphere, intelligence, epic feel, progressive leanings – with an even greater focus on melody and hooks. A New Day, indeed.

The official track-listing for ‘New Day Rising’ is as follows:-

1. New Day Rising

2. You Don’t Know My Name

3. Trouble

4. Black Rain

5. Hold Me Up

6. Love Burns

7. Dreams

8. Sunday Child

9. The Destitute

10. Hibernating Heart

On the live front, VHB have confirmed an extensive tour of Finland, followed by three dates in the UK (London, Manchester & Nottingham) this coming April.

Pre-orders for ‘New Day Rising’ (the album) are now live, with ‘New Day Rising’ (the lead single / video) available for instant download upon album pre-order via iTunes.